Pumpkin Wholesale

welcome books audio dvd stationery

search


List books added in the last days with at least copies in stock

 
browse books
fiction
sciences
art & media
biographies & memoirs
general
children's
general non fiction
humour
leisure
humanities
[cover image]

The Actual One
Isy Suttie

Category: Biographies & Memoirs: General
ISBN: 0-06-257197-4 EAN: 978-0-06-257197-7 Format: PB Pages: 304 Publisher: Harper Year: 2016 Quantity in Stock: 185
Cover price: £8.99 Sale Price: £3.99

A hilarious, razor-sharp debut memoir about the moment when you realize that your friends have all grown up and left you behind, for readers of Caitlin Moran’s How To Be A Woman, Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, and Kelly Williams Brown’s Adulting. Isy Suttie wakes up one day in her late twenties to discover that the deal she’d struck with her friends, to put off growing up for as long as possible, had been entirely in her head. Everyone around her is suddenly into mortgages, farmers’ markets, and going off the Pill, rather than running naked into the sea or getting hammered in a country pub with eighty-year-old men. After a particularly crushing breakup precipitated by Isy’s gifting of a human-size papier-mâché penguin to her boyfriend, her dearest friend advises Isy not to worry: the next guy she meets will be The Actual One. Heartened by this promise, Isy decides to keep delaying the onset of adulthood, whether that means standing on the side of a highway in nothing but an old fur coat and sneakers, dating a man who speaks only in rhyme, or conquering her fears of Alpine skiing by wildly overestimating her athletic ability. Insightful and laugh-out-loud funny, The Actual One is an ode to the confusing wilderness of your late twenties, alongside a quest for a genuinely good relationship . . . or at the very least, a good story to tell.
Quantity: 

Ask a question about this book:

Your name:  Email address: 
Your question:


 
your basket
Your cart is empty.
recover saved
 
recently added books
[cover image] The Little Ships
£2.99
[cover image] Long Way Gone
£2.99
[cover image] Extreme Productivity
£3.99
[cover image] Why Comics?
£6.99

terms and conditions : contact us : open an account : privacy policy

Pumpkin Wholesale Ltd. Company Number: 4035343 VAT registration number: GB750029460